United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitor Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Special Collections Highlights
Graphic Arts
Oral History Homepage

previous    1957 Inauguration Ceremony    next
President:  Dwight D. Eisenhower
Vice President:  Richard M. Nixon
Date:  Monday, January 21, 1957
Location:  East Portico, U.S. Capitol
Length of Address:  1,655 words
**January 20, 1957 fell on a Sunday, so Eisenhower was sworn in privately at the White House East Room. His public inauguration was held on Monday, January 21, 1957.

Front of Ticket
Image of the front of the 1957 Inauguration Ticket
Back of Ticket
Image of the back of the 1957 Inauguration Ticket
1925 Coolidge-Dawes
1929 Hoover-Curtis
1933 Roosevelt-Garner
1937 Roosevelt-Garner
1941 Roosevelt-Wallace
1949 Truman-Barkley
1953 Eisenhower-Nixon
1957 Eisenhower-Nixon
1961 Kennedy-Johnson
1965 Johnson-Humphrey
1969 Nixon-Agnew
1977 Carter-Mondale
1985 Reagan-Bush
1989 Bush-Quayle
1993 Clinton-Gore
1997 Clinton-Gore
2001 Bush-Cheney
2005 Bush-Cheney
2009 Obama-Biden