United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitor Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Special Collections Highlights
Graphic Arts
Oral History Homepage

previous    1993 Inauguration Ceremony    next
President:  William Jefferson Clinton
Vice President:  Albert A. Gore, Jr.
Date:  Wednesday, January 20, 1993
Location:  West front, U.S. Capitol
Length of Address:  1,580 words
**Second time a poet (Maya Angelou) participated in a presidential inaugural. Previously Robert Frost read his work at President Kennedy’s 1961 inaugural ceremony.

Front of Ticket
Image of the front of the 1993 Inauguration Ticket
Back of Ticket
Image of the back of the 1993 Inauguration Ticket
1925 Coolidge-Dawes
1929 Hoover-Curtis
1933 Roosevelt-Garner
1937 Roosevelt-Garner
1941 Roosevelt-Wallace
1949 Truman-Barkley
1953 Eisenhower-Nixon
1957 Eisenhower-Nixon
1961 Kennedy-Johnson
1965 Johnson-Humphrey
1969 Nixon-Agnew
1977 Carter-Mondale
1985 Reagan-Bush
1989 Bush-Quayle
1993 Clinton-Gore
1997 Clinton-Gore
2001 Bush-Cheney
2005 Bush-Cheney
2009 Obama-Biden