United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Special Collections
Graphic Arts
Oral History

World War II: The Senate and the Nation's Capital
IntroductionAmerica Goes to WarSenate Goes to WarWar Comes to WashingtonVictory
First Previous Next Last
President Roosevelt signs Declaration of War while surrounded by four congressmen.
President Roosevelt signs the Declaration of War against Germany on December 11, 1941. Behind him are (L-R): Senator Alben Barkley (KY), Senator Carter Glass (VA), Representative Joseph Martin (MA), and Senator Thomas Connally (TX). [Library of Congress]