United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Calendars & Schedules
Congressional Records & Journals
Bills & Resolutions
Lobbying Disclosure
Legislative Process
Active Legislation


XML U.S. Senate Roll Call Votes 104th Congress - 2nd Session

as compiled through Senate LIS by the Senate Bill Clerk under the direction of the Secretary of the Senate

Vote Summary

Question: On Passage of the Bill (s.2056 )
Vote Number: 281 Vote Date: September 10, 1996, 03:41 PM
Required For Majority: 1/2 Vote Result: Bill Defeated
Measure Number: S. 2056 (Employment Nondiscrimination Act of 1996 )
Measure Title: A bill to prohibit employment discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation.
Vote Counts:YEAs49
Not Voting1
Vote SummaryBy Senator NameBy Vote PositionBy Home State

Alphabetical by Senator Name
Abraham (R-MI), Nay
Akaka (D-HI), Yea
Ashcroft (R-MO), Nay
Baucus (D-MT), Yea
Bennett (R-UT), Nay
Biden (D-DE), Yea
Bingaman (D-NM), Yea
Bond (R-MO), Nay
Boxer (D-CA), Yea
Bradley (D-NJ), Yea
Breaux (D-LA), Yea
Brown (R-CO), Nay
Bryan (D-NV), Yea
Bumpers (D-AR), Yea
Burns (R-MT), Nay
Byrd (D-WV), Nay
Campbell (R-CO), Nay
Chafee (R-RI), Yea
Coats (R-IN), Nay
Cochran (R-MS), Nay
Cohen (R-ME), Yea
Conrad (D-ND), Yea
Coverdell (R-GA), Nay
Craig (R-ID), Nay
D'Amato (R-NY), Yea
Daschle (D-SD), Yea
DeWine (R-OH), Nay
Dodd (D-CT), Yea
Domenici (R-NM), Nay
Dorgan (D-ND), Yea
Exon (D-NE), Nay
Faircloth (R-NC), Nay
Feingold (D-WI), Yea
Feinstein (D-CA), Yea
Ford (D-KY), Nay
Frahm (R-KS), Nay
Frist (R-TN), Nay
Glenn (D-OH), Yea
Gorton (R-WA), Nay
Graham (D-FL), Yea
Gramm (R-TX), Nay
Grams (R-MN), Nay
Grassley (R-IA), Nay
Gregg (R-NH), Nay
Harkin (D-IA), Yea
Hatch (R-UT), Nay
Hatfield (R-OR), Yea
Heflin (D-AL), Nay
Helms (R-NC), Nay
Hollings (D-SC), Yea
Hutchison (R-TX), Nay
Inhofe (R-OK), Nay
Inouye (D-HI), Yea
Jeffords (R-VT), Yea
Johnston (D-LA), Yea
Kassebaum (R-KS), Nay
Kempthorne (R-ID), Nay
Kennedy (D-MA), Yea
Kerrey (D-NE), Yea
Kerry (D-MA), Yea
Kohl (D-WI), Yea
Kyl (R-AZ), Nay
Lautenberg (D-NJ), Yea
Leahy (D-VT), Yea
Levin (D-MI), Yea
Lieberman (D-CT), Yea
Lott (R-MS), Nay
Lugar (R-IN), Nay
Mack (R-FL), Nay
McCain (R-AZ), Nay
McConnell (R-KY), Nay
Mikulski (D-MD), Yea
Moseley-Braun (D-IL), Yea
Moynihan (D-NY), Yea
Murkowski (R-AK), Nay
Murray (D-WA), Yea
Nickles (R-OK), Nay
Nunn (D-GA), Nay
Pell (D-RI), Yea
Pressler (R-SD), Nay
Pryor (D-AR), Not Voting
Reid (D-NV), Yea
Robb (D-VA), Yea
Rockefeller (D-WV), Yea
Roth (R-DE), Nay
Santorum (R-PA), Nay
Sarbanes (D-MD), Yea
Shelby (R-AL), Nay
Simon (D-IL), Yea
Simpson (R-WY), Yea
Smith (R-NH), Nay
Snowe (R-ME), Yea
Specter (R-PA), Yea
Stevens (R-AK), Nay
Thomas (R-WY), Nay
Thompson (R-TN), Nay
Thurmond (R-SC), Nay
Warner (R-VA), Nay
Wellstone (D-MN), Yea
Wyden (D-OR), Yea
Vote SummaryBy Senator NameBy Vote PositionBy Home State

Grouped By Vote Position
YEAs ---49
Akaka (D-HI)
Baucus (D-MT)
Biden (D-DE)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Boxer (D-CA)
Bradley (D-NJ)
Breaux (D-LA)
Bryan (D-NV)
Bumpers (D-AR)
Chafee (R-RI)
Cohen (R-ME)
Conrad (D-ND)
D'Amato (R-NY)
Daschle (D-SD)
Dodd (D-CT)
Dorgan (D-ND)
Feingold (D-WI)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Glenn (D-OH)
Graham (D-FL)
Harkin (D-IA)
Hatfield (R-OR)
Hollings (D-SC)
Inouye (D-HI)
Jeffords (R-VT)
Johnston (D-LA)
Kennedy (D-MA)
Kerrey (D-NE)
Kerry (D-MA)
Kohl (D-WI)
Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
Lieberman (D-CT)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Moseley-Braun (D-IL)
Moynihan (D-NY)
Murray (D-WA)
Pell (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Robb (D-VA)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Sarbanes (D-MD)
Simon (D-IL)
Simpson (R-WY)
Snowe (R-ME)
Specter (R-PA)
Wellstone (D-MN)
Wyden (D-OR)
NAYs ---50
Abraham (R-MI)
Ashcroft (R-MO)
Bennett (R-UT)
Bond (R-MO)
Brown (R-CO)
Burns (R-MT)
Byrd (D-WV)
Campbell (R-CO)
Coats (R-IN)
Cochran (R-MS)
Coverdell (R-GA)
Craig (R-ID)
DeWine (R-OH)
Domenici (R-NM)
Exon (D-NE)
Faircloth (R-NC)
Ford (D-KY)
Frahm (R-KS)
Frist (R-TN)
Gorton (R-WA)
Gramm (R-TX)
Grams (R-MN)
Grassley (R-IA)
Gregg (R-NH)
Hatch (R-UT)
Heflin (D-AL)
Helms (R-NC)
Hutchison (R-TX)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Kassebaum (R-KS)
Kempthorne (R-ID)
Kyl (R-AZ)
Lott (R-MS)
Lugar (R-IN)
Mack (R-FL)
McCain (R-AZ)
McConnell (R-KY)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Nickles (R-OK)
Nunn (D-GA)
Pressler (R-SD)
Roth (R-DE)
Santorum (R-PA)
Shelby (R-AL)
Smith (R-NH)
Stevens (R-AK)
Thomas (R-WY)
Thompson (R-TN)
Thurmond (R-SC)
Warner (R-VA)
Not Voting - 1
Pryor (D-AR)
Vote SummaryBy Senator NameBy Vote PositionBy Home State

Grouped by Home State
Alabama:Heflin (D-AL), NayShelby (R-AL), Nay
Alaska:Murkowski (R-AK), NayStevens (R-AK), Nay
Arizona:Kyl (R-AZ), NayMcCain (R-AZ), Nay
Arkansas:Bumpers (D-AR), YeaPryor (D-AR), Not Voting
California:Boxer (D-CA), YeaFeinstein (D-CA), Yea
Colorado:Brown (R-CO), NayCampbell (R-CO), Nay
Connecticut:Dodd (D-CT), YeaLieberman (D-CT), Yea
Delaware:Biden (D-DE), YeaRoth (R-DE), Nay
Florida:Graham (D-FL), YeaMack (R-FL), Nay
Georgia:Coverdell (R-GA), NayNunn (D-GA), Nay
Hawaii:Akaka (D-HI), YeaInouye (D-HI), Yea
Idaho:Craig (R-ID), NayKempthorne (R-ID), Nay
Illinois:Moseley-Braun (D-IL), YeaSimon (D-IL), Yea
Indiana:Coats (R-IN), NayLugar (R-IN), Nay
Iowa:Grassley (R-IA), NayHarkin (D-IA), Yea
Kansas:Frahm (R-KS), NayKassebaum (R-KS), Nay
Kentucky:Ford (D-KY), NayMcConnell (R-KY), Nay
Louisiana:Breaux (D-LA), YeaJohnston (D-LA), Yea
Maine:Cohen (R-ME), YeaSnowe (R-ME), Yea
Maryland:Mikulski (D-MD), YeaSarbanes (D-MD), Yea
Massachusetts:Kennedy (D-MA), YeaKerry (D-MA), Yea
Michigan:Abraham (R-MI), NayLevin (D-MI), Yea
Minnesota:Grams (R-MN), NayWellstone (D-MN), Yea
Mississippi:Cochran (R-MS), NayLott (R-MS), Nay
Missouri:Ashcroft (R-MO), NayBond (R-MO), Nay
Montana:Baucus (D-MT), YeaBurns (R-MT), Nay
Nebraska:Exon (D-NE), NayKerrey (D-NE), Yea
Nevada:Bryan (D-NV), YeaReid (D-NV), Yea
New Hampshire:Gregg (R-NH), NaySmith (R-NH), Nay
New Jersey:Bradley (D-NJ), YeaLautenberg (D-NJ), Yea
New Mexico:Bingaman (D-NM), YeaDomenici (R-NM), Nay
New York:D'Amato (R-NY), YeaMoynihan (D-NY), Yea
North Carolina:Faircloth (R-NC), NayHelms (R-NC), Nay
North Dakota:Conrad (D-ND), YeaDorgan (D-ND), Yea
Ohio:DeWine (R-OH), NayGlenn (D-OH), Yea
Oklahoma:Inhofe (R-OK), NayNickles (R-OK), Nay
Oregon:Hatfield (R-OR), YeaWyden (D-OR), Yea
Pennsylvania:Santorum (R-PA), NaySpecter (R-PA), Yea
Rhode Island:Chafee (R-RI), YeaPell (D-RI), Yea
South Carolina:Hollings (D-SC), YeaThurmond (R-SC), Nay
South Dakota:Daschle (D-SD), YeaPressler (R-SD), Nay
Tennessee:Frist (R-TN), NayThompson (R-TN), Nay
Texas:Gramm (R-TX), NayHutchison (R-TX), Nay
Utah:Bennett (R-UT), NayHatch (R-UT), Nay
Vermont:Jeffords (R-VT), YeaLeahy (D-VT), Yea
Virginia:Robb (D-VA), YeaWarner (R-VA), Nay
Washington:Gorton (R-WA), NayMurray (D-WA), Yea
West Virginia:Byrd (D-WV), NayRockefeller (D-WV), Yea
Wisconsin:Feingold (D-WI), YeaKohl (D-WI), Yea
Wyoming:Simpson (R-WY), YeaThomas (R-WY), Nay
Vote SummaryBy Senator NameBy Vote PositionBy Home State

How to Find Votes

Find out about congressional voting with this How to guide.

How to find bills

Use this guide to help you find the full text of recent bills and resolutions on the Web, or order them from the Senate or House Document Rooms, or you can find them in a library.    

Find bills in THOMAS

You can access legislative information, by bill number or key words, from the THOMAS Web site.  Information from the present back to the 93rd Congress (1973) is available on THOMAS.

Virtual Reference Desk

The Votes page of the Virtual Reference Desk provides voting procedure information, research guides, and essays about historic votes.

Vote Statistics

The Votes category on the Statistics page features facts and figures about votes made by Senators.