United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Richard B. Russell
Walter George
Herman Talmadge
Sam Nunn
Senate Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Abraham Baldwin, John Milledge, William H. Crawford, Augustus O. Bacon, Walter F. George, Richard B. Russell, Jr.

Republican Conference Secretary: Paul Coverdell

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Agriculture & Forestry: Herman E. Talmadge, Saxby Chambliss

Appropriations: Richard B. Russell

Armed Services: Richard B. Russell, Samuel Nunn

Finance: Walter F. George

Foreign Relations: Walter F. George
Georgia Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps
Abraham Baldwin
Walter F. George
Richard B. Russell, Jr.
Georgia Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Dr. Crawford W. Long by J. Massey Rhind (Senate connecting corridor); Alexander H. Stephens by Gutzon Borglum (Statuary Hall).

Frescos: Columbia welcoming the South back into the Union, Secession and Products of the North and South, by Constantino Brumidi (office of the vice president).

Frieze: Peace Between Governor Oglethorpe and the Indians, executed by Filippo Costaggini after a design by Brumidi (Rotunda frieze).


Speakers of the House of Representatives collection: portraits of Howell Cobb by Lucy M. Stanton, Charles F. Crisp by Robert Hinckley (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor).

Architecturally Significant Buildings, Construction Materials, Furniture and Objects: Richard B. Russell Senate Office Building--A fine example of neoclassical architecture dedicated in 1909 and executed in marble with outstanding interiors.

East Front exterior of the Capitol--Georgia Marble.

1960 subway system to Capitol--designed by Shelton and Stanford of Atlanta.

Unusual Facts
Senators Walter T. Colquitt (1843-1848) and Alfred H. Colquitt (1883-1894) were the only father and son to serve in the Senate from Georgia.

Senator Rebecca Felton, the first woman seated in the Senate, was at eighty-seven years old the oldest person ever sworn in as a senator for the first time and served the shortest length of service, one day.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.