United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Wendell H. Ford
Mitch McConnell

Youngest Senators: Henry Clay was twenty-nine years old in 1806 when he was first sworn in as a senator, less than the thirty years required by the Constitution. Clay is the third youngest member ever to serve in the Senate.

Oldest Senators: Alben W. Barkley was seventy-seven years old when he was reelected to the Senate in 1955 after his service as vice president.

Kentucky Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Richard Mentor Johnson, John C. Breckinridge, Alben W. Barkley

President Pro Tempore: John Brown, John Pope

Majority Leader/Minority Leader: Alben W. Barkley; Mitch McConnell

Democratic Conference Chair: Joseph C.S. Blackburn, Alben W. Barkley

Party Whips: Earle C. Clements, Wendell H. Ford, Mitch McConnell

Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee Chair: Wendell H. Ford

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chair: Mitch McConnell

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Aeronautical and Space Sciences: Wendell H. Ford

Rules and Administration: Wendell H. Ford, Mitch McConnell
Kentucky Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps
Henry Clay (Twelve separate issues since 1870.)
Kentucky Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Dr. Ephraim McDowell by Charles H. Niehaus (Senate connecting corridor); Henry Clay by Charles H. Niehaus (Statuary Hall); Henry Clay by Thomas Ball (Senate wing, second floor)


Vice Presidents Collection: Alben W. Barkley by Kalervo Kallio (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor), John C. Breckinridge by James P. Voorhees (Senate chamber gallery);

Senators Collection: Henry Clay by Albert P. Henry (HB-28)

Portraits: Five portraits of Henry Clay: by Constantino Brumidi (S-118, north wall, Senate wing); by Allyn Cox (one of five outstanding senators memorialized in the Senate Reception Room, S-213); by Henry Darby (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor); by John Neagle (House wing, third floor, east corridor); by Guiseppe Fagnani (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor). John White by Gerard Barry, Linn Boyd by Stanley Middleton, John G. Carlisle by Ellen D. Hale (all in Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor).

Reliefs: Conflict of Daniel Boone and the Indians by Enrico Causici (Rotunda, above south door)


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.