United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Thomas Hart Benton
Francis M. Cockrell
Missouri Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Harry S. Truman

Democratic Conference Secretary: Thomas C. Hennings

Republican Conference Vice Chair: Roy Blunt

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Commerce, Science and Transportation: John C. Danforth

District of Columbia: Thomas F. Eagleton

Rules and Administration: Thomas C. Hennings

Small Business: Christopher S. Bond
Missouri Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Carl Schurz
Harry S. Truman (4 issues)
Missouri Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Francis P. Blair by Alexander Doyle (Hall of Columns); Thomas Hart Benton by Alexander Doyle (Statuary Hall).


Vice Presidents Collection: Harry S. Truman by Charles Keck (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor).

Portraits: Champ Clark by Boris B. Gordon (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor).


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.