United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Clinton P. Anderson
Jeff Bingaman
Dennis Chavez
Pete Domenici
New Mexico Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:
Aeronautical and Space Sciences: Clinton P. Anderson

Budget: Pete V. Domenici

Energy and Natural Resources: Jesse F. (Jeff) Bingaman, Pete V. Domenici

Interior and Insular Affairs: Clinton P. Anderson

Public Works: Dennis Chavez
New Mexico Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Dennis Chavez
New Mexico Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Dennis Chavez by Felix De Weldon (Old Senate Chamber lobby); Po'pay by Cliff Fragua (CVC)

Paintings: Fort Defiance, New Mexico, by Seth Eastman, located in center section, first floor, west corridor.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.