United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
John Sherman
John Glenn
Ohio Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Benjamin F. Wade, Allen G. Thurman, John Sherman

Majority Leader: Robert A. Taft

Republican Conference Secretary: Harold H. Burton

Party Whips: Simeon D. Fess

Republican Policy Committee Chairman: Robert A. Taft

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Governmental Affairs: John Glenn

Interstate and Foreign Commerce: John W. Bricker

Labor and Public Welfare: Robert A. Taft

Ohio Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Warren Harding (nine issues)

William H. Harrison (four issues

Robert A. Taft (one issue)

Ohio Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: William Allen by Charles H. Niehaus (Statuary Hall); James A. Garfield by Charles H. Niehaus (Rotunda); Ulysses S. Grant by Franklin Simmons (Rotunda)


Presidents Collection: James A. Garfield by Charles H. Niehaus; William McKinley by Emma Cadwalader-Guild (both in S-216, President's Room)

Portraits: Ulysses S. Grant by William Cogswell (S-210); James A. Garfield by Cornelia A. Fassett (H-216); Robert A. Taft by Deane Keller (one of five outstanding senators memorialized in the Senate Reception Room, S-213); J. Warren Keifer by Charles A. Gray and Nicholas Longworth by Robert Doblhoff (both in the Speaker's Lobby).

Frescos: William Allen by Constantino Brumidi (S-118, south wall)

Architecturally Significant Buildings, Designers, Construction Materials, Furniture and Objects: Robert A. Taft Memorial, statue by Wheeler Williams, bell tower by Douglas W. Orr (Capitol Grounds); Honduran mahogany hardwood finishes in the Russell Senate Office Building were manufactured by Meader Furniture Company of Cincinnati.

Unusual Facts
Stephen Young was elected to the Senate when he was seventy-five years old.

Robert A. Taft served in the Senate during the 76th-83rd congresses, and his son Robert Taft, Jr. served in the Senate during the 92d-94th congresses.

Two Ohio senators, Thomas Worthington and Alexander Campbell, were less than thirty-one years old when they entered the Senate and are among the youngest members sworn into office in Senate history.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.