United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
J. W. Elmer Thomas

Don Nickles

Oklahoma Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Party Whips: Don Nickles

Republican Policy Committee Chairman: Don Nickles

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chairman: Don Nickles

Democratic Conference Secretary: Joshua B. Lee, Robert L. Owen

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Aeronautical and Space Sciences: Robert S. Kerr

Agriculture and Forestry: J.W. Elmer Thomas

Budget: Don Nickles

Environment and Public Works: James M. Inhofe

Post Office and Civil Service: A S. Mike Monroney

Oklahoma Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Sequoya by Vinnie Ream/G.J. Zolnay (Statuary Hall); Will Rogers by Jo Davidson (House connecting corridor).

Portraits: Carl Albert by Charles B. Wilson (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor).


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.