United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Claiborne Pell
Nelson W. Aldrich
John O. Pastore
Henry B. Anthony
Theodore Francis Green
Rhode Island Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Henry B. Anthony

Republican Conference Chairmen: Nelson W. Aldrich, John H. Chafee

Party Whips: Peter G. Gerry, Felix Hebert

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

District of Columbia: J. Howard McGrath

Environment and Public Works: John H. Chafee

Foreign Relations: Theodore Francis Green, Claiborne Pell

Rules and Administration: Theodore Francis Green, Claiborne Pell
Rhode Island Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: In 1870, Nathanael Greene by Henry Kirke Brown was the first statue to be placed in Statuary Hall; in 1872, Roger Williams by Frank Simmons was the second statue placed there.

Paintings: Declaration of Independence in Congress, at the Independence Hall, Philadelphia, July 4th, 1776, by John Trumbull includes portraits of Stephen Hopkins and William Ellery, who signed on behalf of Rhode Island (Rotunda); General George Washington Resigning His Commission to Congress as Commander in Chief of the Army at Annapolis, Maryland, December 23, 1783, by John Trumbull includes a portrait of David Howell, a delegate from Rhode Island (Rotunda).


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.