United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership


Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Strom Thurmond
Ellison D. Smith
Ernest F. Hollings
South Carolina Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): John C. Calhoun

President Pro Tempore: Ralph Izard, Jacob Read, John Gaillard, Strom Thurmond

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Armed Services: Strom Thurmond

Banking and Currency: Burnet R. Maybank

Budget: Ernest F. Hollings

Commerce, Science and Transportation: Ernest F. Hollings

Judiciary: Strom Thurmond

Post Office and Civil Service: Olin D. Johnston
South Carolina Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: John Caldwell Calhoun by Frederic W. Ruckstull located in the East Front Lobby; Wade Hampton by Frederic W. Ruckstull, located in the House connecting corridor, second floor.


Vice Presidents Collection: John C. Calhoun by Theodore A. Mills (Senate Chamber gallery).

Chief Justices Collection: John Rutledge by Alexander Galt, located in the Old Supreme Court Chamber.

Paintings: Fort Sumter, South Carolina, one painting before the war and two paintings after bombardment, by Seth Eastman. All three paintings are located in the Center section, first floor, west corridor.

Portraits: Two portraits of John C. Calhoun, by Arthur Conrad in the Senate Reception Room (one of five outstanding senators memorialized), and by Henry F. Darby in the Senate wing, second floor, main corridor

Speaker of the House Collection: Langdon Cheeves, by Hal Morrison, James L. Orr by Esther Edmonds, both in the House wing, Speaker's Lobby, second floor.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.