United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Morris Sheppard
Charles A. Culberson
Tom Connally
Texas Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): John N. Garner, Lyndon B. Johnson; George H.W. Bush

President Pro Tempore: Thomas J. Rusk

Democratic Conference Chair: Charles A. Culberson, Lyndon B. Johnson

Republican Conference Secretary/Vice Chair: Kay Bailey Hutchison; John Cornyn

Majority Leader/Minority Leader: Lyndon B. Johnson

Party Whips: Morris Sheppard; Lyndon B. Johnson; John Cornyn

Party Policy Committee Chair: Lyndon B. Johnson; John G. Tower; Kay Bailey Hutchison

Democratic Campaign Committee Chair: Lloyd Bentsen

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chair: Phil Gramm; John Cornyn

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Aeronautical & Space Sciences: Lyndon B. Johnson

Armed Services: John G. Tower

Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Phil Gramm

Finance: Lloyd Bentsen

Foreign Relations: Tom Connally

Labor and Public Welfare: Ralph W. Yarborough
Texas Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Samuel Houston
Lyndon B. Johnson
Texas Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Stephen F. Austin by Elisabet Ney (small House rotunda); Samuel Houston by Elisabet Ney (Statuary Hall).


Vice Presidents Collection: John N. Garner by James Earle Fraser (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor); Lyndon B. Johnson by Jimilu Mason (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor); George H.W. Bush by Walker Hancock (Senate wing, second floor).

Portraits: John N. Garner by Seymour M. Stone (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor); Sam Rayburn by Douglas Chandor (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor); George H. Mahon by Charles J. Fox (H-216); James P. Buchanan by Seymour M. Stone (H-218).


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.