United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service

Longest Service (24 years or more):
Harry Flood Byrd, Sr.
Carter Glass
Thomas S. Martin
John Warner

Virginia Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Thomas Jefferson, John Tyler

President Pro Tempore: Richard Henry Lee, Henry Tazewell, James Barbour, Littleton Tazewell, John Tyler, James M. Mason, Carter Glass

Democratic Caucus Chair: Thomas S. Martin

Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee Chair: Charles S. Robb

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chair: George F. Allen

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Armed Services: John W. Warner

Banking: A. Willis Robertson

Finance: Harry Flood Byrd, Sr.

Rules and Administration: John W. Warner
Virginia Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
James Monroe
Virginia Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Robert E. Lee by Edward V. Valentine (Statuary Hall); George Washington by Antoine Houdon (Rotunda); Thomas Jefferson by P.J. David d'Angers (Rotunda); Thomas Jefferson by Hiram Powers (House wing, second floor, east corridor); John Marshall by William W. Story (Capitol grounds, west front).


Presidents Collection: George Washington by David d'Angers (Rotunda).

Vice Presidents Collection: Thomas Jefferson by Sir Moses Ezekiel (Senate chamber gallery); John Tyler by William McCauslen (Senate chamber gallery).

Chief Justices Collection: John Marshall by Hiram Powers (old Supreme Court chamber).

Paintings: Baptism of Pocahontas at Jamestown, Virginia by John G. Chapman (Rotunda); Surrender of Lord Cornwallis at Yorktown, Virginia by John Trumbull (Rotunda); General George Washington Resigning His Commission to Congress as Commander in Chief of the Army by John Trumbull (Rotunda); Mrs. Motte Directing Generals Marion and Lee to Burn Her Mansion to Dislodge the British by John Blake White (Senate wing, third floor, south corridor).

Portraits: Two portraits of Thomas Jefferson: by Constantino Brumidi (S-216), and by Thomas Sully (S-210). Five portraits of George Washington: by Charles Willson Peale (Senate wing, third floor, west corridor), by Rembrandt Peale (old Senate chamber), by Gilbert Stuart (S-207, Senators' Conference Room), by Gilbert Stuart (H-207, House Reception Room), by Gilbert Stuart (S-210), and by John Vanderlyn after Gilbert Stuart (House chamber). Portraits of four Virginians who served as Speaker of the House: Philip P. Barbour by Kate F. Edwards, Andrew Stevenson by Spencer B. Nichols, Robert M.T. Hunter by Richard N. Brooke, John W. Jones by James B. Sword (all in Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor). Also: Patrick Henry by George B. Matthews after Thomas Sully (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor); John Marshall by Richard N. Brooke (House wing, third floor, west corridor).

Unusual Facts
One of Virginia's first two senators, William Grayson, was the first senator to die in office. The Revolutionary War veteran died at age fifty, shortly before the second session of the First Congress.

Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.