United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Henry M. Jackson
Warren G. Magnuson
Washington Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Warren G. Magnuson

Party Whips: Wesley L. Jones

Democratic Conference Secretary: Patty Murray

Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee Chair: Patty Murray

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Appropriations: Warren G. Magnuson

Budget: Patty Murray

Commerce, Science and Transportation: Warren G. Magnuson

Energy and Natural Resources: Henry M. Jackson

Interior & Insular Affairs: Henry Jackson

Interstate & Foreign Commerce: Warren Magnuson

Small Business and Entrepreneurship: Maria Cantwell

Veterans' Affiars: Maria Cantwell

Washington Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Mother Joseph by Felix de Weldon, located in the Hall of Columns; Marcus Whitman by Avard Fairbanks, located in Statuary Hall.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.