Skip to main content
State sealflag

New York

New York became the 11th state to join the Union on July 26, 1788. New York’s first two senators, Rufus King and Philip Schuyler, took office on July 16, 1789. New York’s longest-serving senators include Jacob Javits (1957-1981) and Daniel Patrick Moynihan (1977-2001). Among those who rose to leadership positions are John Laurance, who served as the Senate’s president pro tempore, and James Wadsworth, Jr., who served as Republican Party whip. In 2001 Hillary R. Clinton became the first former First Lady to serve as a U.S. senator.

Additional State Information