[Table 6–01] OFFICIALLY RECORDED OCCASIONS WHEN VICE PRESIDENTS HAVE VOTED TO BREAK TIE VOTES IN THE SENATE $^{\rm 1}$

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
John Adams (29)	1789–1797	July 18, 1789 August 25, 1789 September 21, 1789 September 24, 1789 May 21, 1790 May 26, 1790 (2) May 27, 1790 June 8, 1790 June 29, 1790 (3) July 1, 1790 July 28, 1790 (3) December 8, 1791 December 15, 1791 December 20, 1791 April 16, 1792 March 12, 1794 (3) March 13, 1794 (2) April 28, 1796 May 6, 1796 February 6, 1797
Thomas Jefferson (3)	1797–1801	April 23, 1798 May 30, 1798 May 5, 1800
Aaron Burr (3)	1801–1805	January 26, 1802 January 27, 1802 February 9, 1802
George Clinton (14)	1805–1812	January 28, 1806 March 17, 1806 January 21, 1807 March 16, 1808 December 16, 1808 January 11, 1809

-

 $^{^{1}}$ This list is a compilation from a number of sources (see list at end) and may not include every occasion on which a vice president has voted to break a tie.

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
George Clinton (14) (cont.)		January 23, 1810 February 5, 1810 April 9, 1810 April 14, 1810 January 10, 1811 February 5, 1811 February 20, 1811 April 9, 1812
[No vice president]	[1812–1813]	_
Elbridge Gerry (9)	1813–1814	July 24, 1813 July 31, 1813 March 1, 1814 March 15, 1814 March 28, 1814 April 13, 1814 April 16, 1814 (3)
[No vice president]	[1814–1817]	
Daniel D. Tompkins (6)	1817–1825	March 4, 1818 March 11, 1818 March 26, 1818 January 21, 1819 February 10, 1819 May 17, 1824
John C. Calhoun (31)	1825–1832	February 16, 1826 April 28, 1826 May 10, 1826 February 14, 1827 February 23, 1827 February 28, 1827 February 25, 1828 March 21, 1828 (2) April 9, 1828 April 30, 1828 May 5, 1828 May 6, 1828 May 10, 1828 (2) February 16, 1829 February 26, 1829 December 14, 1829

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
John C. Calhoun (31) (cont.)		May 10, 1830 May 28, 1830 (2) January 13, 1832 January 25, 1832 February 16, 1832 April 13, 1832 April 25, 1832 May 9, 1832 July 5, 1832 (2) July 6, 1832 (2)
[No vice president]	[1832–1833]	_
Martin Van Buren (4)	1833–1837	March 28, 1836 May 21, 1836 June 2, 1836 December 21, 1836
Richard M. Johnson (14)	1837–1841	January 27, 1838 February 21, 1838 December 19, 1838 February 4, 1839 February 6, 1839 February 20, 1839 February 7, 1840 (2) March 25, 1840 (3) May 7, 1840 June 5, 1840 January 20, 1841
John Tyler (0)	1841	_
[No vice president]	[1841–1845]	_
George M. Dallas (19)	1845–1849	February 3, 1846 April 14, 1846 April 15, 1846 May 15, 1846 July 23, 1846 July 28, 1846 (2) December 23, 1846 January 16, 1847 January 19, 1847

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
George M. Dallas (19) (cont.)		January 22, 1847 January 25, 1847 February 27, 1847 (2) December 29, 1847 March 8, 1848 June 20, 1848 June 22, 1848 February 8, 1849
Millard Fillmore (3)	1849–1850	January 7, 1850 January 9, 1850 January 14, 1850
[No vice president]	[1850–1853]	_
William R. King (0)	1853	_
[No vice president]	[1853–1857]	_
John C. Breckinridge (10)	1857–1861	March 15, 1858 May 12, 1858 May 18, 1858 June 7, 1858 December 15, 1858 February 17, 1859 April 11, 1860 February 21, 1861 February 28, 1861 March 2, 1861
Hannibal Hamlin (7)	1861–1865	March 12, 1862 March 17, 1862 March 24, 1862 January 14, 1863 February 3, 1863 February 28, 1865 March 1, 1865
Andrew Johnson (0)	1865	_
[No vice president]	[1865–1869]	_
Schuyler Colfax (18)	1869–1873	December 8, 1869 February 14, 1870

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Schuyler Colfax (18) (cont)		March 11, 1870 March 15, 1870 March 29, 1870 May 23, 1870 June 7, 1870 February 17, 1871 February 20, 1871 March 22, 1871 February 9, 1872 April 24, 1872 April 30, 1872 (2) May 9, 1872 (3) February 15, 1873
Henry Wilson (1)	1873–1875	March 2, 1875
[No vice president]	[1875–1877]	_
William A. Wheeler (6)	1877–1881	November 22, 1877 November 26, 1877 November 28, 1877 (2) December 20, 1878 January 31, 1879
Chester A. Arthur (3)	1881	March 18, 1881 (2) March 24, 1881
[No vice president]	[1881–1885]	_
Thomas A. Hendricks (0)	1885	_
[No vice president]	[1885–1889]	_
Levi P. Morton (4)	1889–1893	January 14, 1891 January 16, 1891 December 15, 1892 February 9, 1893
Adlai E. Stevenson (2)	1893–1897	February 15, 1894 August 11, 1894
Garret A. Hobart (1)	1897–1899	February 14, 1899
[No vice president]	[1899–1901]	_

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Theodore Roosevelt (0)	1901	_
[No vice president]	[1901–1905]	_
Charles W. Fairbanks (0)	1905–1909	_
James S. Sherman (4)	1909–1912	February 2, 1911 (3) June 12, 1911
[No vice president]	[1912–1913]	_
Thomas R. Marshall (9)	1913–1921	December 19, 1913 March 19, 1914 May 19, 1914 August 17, 1914 February 12, 1915 February 15, 1915 (2) February 2, 1916 February 14, 1919
Calvin Coolidge (0)	1921–1923	_
[No vice president]	[1923–1925]	_
Charles G. Dawes (2)	1925–1929	May 21, 1928 May 28, 1928
Charles Curtis (3)	1929–1933	March 12, 1930 March 13, 1930 May 19, 1930
John N. Garner (3)	1933–1941	June 2, 1933 April 17, 1934 February 6, 1940
Henry A. Wallace (4)	1941–1945	June 26, 1942 (2) July 16, 1942 July 17, 1942
Harry S. Truman (1)	1945	April 10, 1945
[No vice president]	[1945–1949]	_
Alben W. Barkley (8)	1949–1953	September 15, 1949

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Alben W. Barkley (8) (cont)		September 15, 1949 October 4, 1949 (2) May 3, 1950 June 5, 1950 June 26, 1950 June 4, 1952
Richard M. Nixon (8)	1953–1961	June 18, 1953 (2) March 9, 1956 May 29, 1956 March 12, 1958 April 22, 1959 February 3, 1960 May 2, 1960
Lyndon B. Johnson (0)	1961–1963	_
[No vice president]	[1963–1965]	_
Hubert H. Humphrey (4)	1965–1969	August 17, 1965 September 13, 1965 May 9, 1967 March 11, 1968
Spiro T. Agnew (2)	1969–1973	August 6, 1969 July 17, 1973
Gerald R. Ford (0)	1973–1974	_
Nelson A. Rockefeller (0)	1974–1977	_
Walter Mondale (1)	1977–1981	November 4, 1977
George Bush (7)	1981–1989	July 13, 1983 November 8, 1983 June 14, 1984 May 10, 1985 July 23, 1986 August 7, 1986 September 22, 1987
Dan Quayle (0)	1989–1993	_

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Albert Gore, Jr. (4)	1993–2001	June 24, 1993 ² August 6, 1993 August 3, 1994 May 20, 1999
Richard B. Cheney (8)	2001–2009	April 3, 2001 April 5, 2001 May 21, 2002 April 11, 2003 May 15, 2003 May 23, 2003 December 21, 2005 March 13, 2008
Joseph Biden, Jr. (0)	2009–2017	
Michael R. Pence (13)	2017–2021	February 7, 2017 ³ March 30, 2017 (2) July 25, 2017 October 24, 2017 December 2, 2017 January 24, 2018 (2) February 28, 2018 November 28, 2018 November 29, 2018 December 11, 2018 December 21, 2018
Kamala Harris (33)	2021-present	February 5, 2021 (2) March 4, 2021 April 21, 2021 June 22, 2021 (2) July 20, 2021 July 21, 2021 September 30, 2021 October 20, 2021 (2) November 3, 2021 November 17, 2021 December 8, 2021 (2) March 30, 2022 April 5, 2022 May 10, 2022

² Vote occurred at 2:00 a.m. on June 25, 1993.
³ First instance of a VP tie break vote on a Cabinet nomination.

Vice President Years Served Date Broke Tie

Kamala Harris (33) (cont.)

May 11, 2022 (4) May 12, 2022 August 6, 2022 August 7, 2022 (2) February 28, 2023 (2) March 1, 2023 June 21, 2023 July 12, 2023 December 5, 2023 (2)

Total: 301

Sources: Compiled by the Senate Historical Office from a variety of sources, including a printout of Senate votes decided by one vote or less, 1789–1983, prepared for Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress by the Inter–university Consortium for Political and Social Research, Ann Arbor, MI, in 1983; a list compiled by the Senate Library in 1979; and the Office of the Vice President. All votes listed here have been found and verified in either the *Senate Journal* or the *Senate Executive Journal*, or in the *Annals of Congress*, the *Congressional Globe*, or the *Congressional Record*.

Senate Historical Office December 6, 2023