[Table 6-01]

OCCASIONS WHEN VICE PRESIDENTS HAVE VOTED TO BREAK TIE VOTES IN THE SENATE $^{\rm 1}$

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
John Adams (29)	1789–1797	July 18, 1789 August 25, 1789 September 21, 1789 September 24, 1789 May 21, 1790 May 26, 1790 May 26, 1790 May 27, 1790 June 8, 1790 June 29, 1790 June 29, 1790 July 28, 1790 July 28, 1790 July 28, 1790 July 28, 1790 December 8, 1791 December 15, 1791 December 20, 1791 April 16, 1792 March 12, 1794 March 12, 1794 March 13, 1794 April 28, 1794 April 28, 1796 May 6, 1796 February 6, 1797
Thomas Jefferson (3)	1797–1801	April 23, 1798 May 30, 1798 May 5, 1800

-

 $^{^{1}}$ This list is a compilation from a number of sources (see list at end) and may not include every occasion on which a vice president has voted to break a tie.

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Aaron Burr (3)	1801–1805	January 26, 1802 January 27, 1802 February 9, 1802
George Clinton (14)	1805–1812	January 28, 1806 March 17, 1806 January 21, 1807 March 16, 1808 December 16, 1808 January 11, 1809 January 23, 1810 February 5, 1810 April 9, 1810 January 10, 1811 February 5, 1811 February 20, 1811 April 9, 1812
[No vice president]	[1812–1813]	_
Elbridge Gerry (9)	1813–1814	July 24, 1813 July 31, 1813 March 1, 1814 March 15, 1814 March 28, 1814 April 13, 1814 April 16, 1814 April 16, 1814 April 16, 1814
[No vice president]	[1814–1817]	_
Daniel D. Tompkins (6)	1817–1825	March 4, 1818 March 11, 1818 March 26, 1818 January 21, 1819 February 10, 1819 May 17, 1824
John C. Calhoun (31)	1825–1832	February 16, 1826 April 28, 1826 May 10, 1826 February 14, 1827

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
John C. Calhoun (cont.)		February 23, 1827 February 28, 1827 February 25, 1828 March 21, 1828 March 21, 1828 April 9, 1828 April 30, 1828 May 5, 1828 May 6, 1828 May 10, 1828 May 10, 1828 February 16, 1829 February 26, 1829 December 14, 1829 May 10, 1830 May 28, 1830 May 28, 1830 January 13, 1832 January 25, 1832 February 16, 1832 April 13, 1832 April 13, 1832 April 25, 1832 May 9, 1832 July 5, 1832 July 5, 1832 July 5, 1832 July 6, 1832 July 6, 1832 July 6, 1832 July 6, 1832
[No vice president]	[1832–1833]	
Martin Van Buren (4)	1833–1837	March 28, 1836 May 21, 1836 June 2, 1836 December 21, 1836
Richard M. Johnson (14)	1837–1841	January 27, 1838 February 21, 1838 December 19, 1838 February 4, 1839 February 6, 1839 February 20, 1839 February 7, 1840 February 7, 1840 March 25, 1840

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Richard M. Johnson (cont.)		March 25, 1840 March 25, 1840 May 7, 1840 June 5, 1840 January 20, 1841
John Tyler (0)	1841	_
[No vice president]	[1841–1845]	_
George M. Dallas (19)	1845–1849	February 3, 1846 April 14, 1846 April 15, 1846 May 15, 1846 July 23, 1846 July 28, 1846 July 28, 1846 December 23, 1846 January 16, 1847 January 19, 1847 January 22, 1847 January 25, 1847 February 27, 1847 February 27, 1847 December 29, 1847 March 8, 1848 June 20, 1848 June 20, 1848 February 8, 1849
Millard Fillmore (3)	1849–1850	January 7, 1850 January 9, 1850 January 14, 1850
[No vice president]	[1850–1853]	_
William R. King (0)	1853	_
[No vice president]	[1853–1857]	_
John C. Breckinridge (10)	1857–1861	March 15, 1858 May 12, 1858 May 18, 1858

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
John C. Breckinridge (cont.)		June 7, 1858 December 15, 1858 February 17, 1859 April 11, 1860 February 21, 1861 February 28, 1861 March 2, 1861
Hannibal Hamlin (7)	1861–1865	March 12, 1862
Hannibal Hamlin (cont.)		March 17, 1862 March 24, 1862 January 14, 1863 February 3, 1863 February 28, 1865 March 1, 1865
Andrew Johnson (0)	1865	_
[No vice president]	[1865–1869]	_
Schuyler Colfax (18)	1869–1873	December 8, 1869 February 14, 1870 March 11, 1870 March 15, 1870 March 29, 1870 May 23, 1870 June 7, 1870 February 17, 1871 February 20, 1871 March 22, 1871 February 9, 1872 April 24, 1872 April 30, 1872 April 30, 1872 May 9, 1872 May 9, 1872 May 9, 1872 February 15, 1873
Henry Wilson (1)	1873–1875	March 2, 1875
[No vice president]	[1875–1877]	_
William A. Wheeler (6)	1877–1881	November 22, 1877

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
William A. Wheeler (cont.)		November 26, 1877 November 28, 1877 November 28, 1877 December 20, 1878 January 31, 1879
Chester A. Arthur (3)	1881	March 18, 1881 March 18, 1881 March 24, 1881
[No vice president]	[1881–1885]	_
Thomas A. Hendricks (0)	1885	_
[No vice president]	[1885–1889]	_
Levi P. Morton (4)	1889–1893	January 14, 1891 January 16, 1891 December 15, 1892 February 9, 1893
Adlai E. Stevenson (2)	1893–1897	February 15, 1894 August 11, 1894
Garret A. Hobart (1)	1897–1899	February 14, 1899
[No vice president]	[1899–1901]	_
Theodore Roosevelt (0)	1901	_
[No vice president]	[1901–1905]	_
Charles W. Fairbanks (0)	1905–1909	_
James S. Sherman (4)	1909–1912	February 2, 1911 February 2, 1911 February 2, 1911 June 12, 1911
[No vice president]	[1912–1913]	_

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Thomas R. Marshall (9)	1913–1921	December 19, 1913 March 19, 1914 May 19, 1914 August 17, 1914 February 12, 1915 February 15, 1915 February 15, 1915 February 2, 1916 February 14, 1919
Calvin Coolidge (0)	1921–1923	_
[No vice president]	[1923–1925]	_
Charles G. Dawes (2)	1925–1929	May 21, 1928 May 28, 1928
Charles Curtis (3)	1929–1933	March 12, 1930 March 13, 1930 May 19, 1930
John N. Garner (3)	1933–1941	June 2, 1933 April 17, 1934 February 6, 1940
Henry A. Wallace (4)	1941–1945	June 26, 1942 June 26, 1942 July 16, 1942 July 17, 1942
Harry S. Truman (1)	1945	April 10, 1945
[No vice president]	[1945–1949]	_
Alben W. Barkley (8)	1949–1953	September 15, 1949 September 15, 1949 October 4, 1949 October 4, 1949 May 3, 1950 June 5, 1950 June 26, 1950 June 4, 1952
Richard M. Nixon (8)	1953–1961	June 18, 1953

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Richard M. Nixon (cont.)		June 18, 1953 March 9, 1956 May 29, 1956 March 12, 1958 April 22, 1959 February 3, 1960 May 2, 1960
Lyndon B. Johnson (0)	1961–1963	_
[No vice president]	[1963–1965]	_
Hubert H. Humphrey (4)	1965–1969	August 17, 1965 September 13, 1965
Hubert H. Humphrey (cont.)		May 9, 1967 March 11, 1968
Spiro T. Agnew (2)	1969–1973	August 6, 1969 July 17, 1973
Gerald R. Ford (0)	1973–1974	_
Nelson A. Rockefeller (0)	1974–1977	_
Walter Mondale (1)	1977–1981	November 4, 1977
George Bush (7)	1981–1989	July 13, 1983 November 8, 1983 June 14, 1984 May 10, 1985 July 23, 1986 August 7, 1986 September 22, 1987
Dan Quayle (0)	1989–1993	_
Albert Gore, Jr. (4)	1993–2001	June 24, 1993 ² August 6, 1993 August 3, 1994 May 20, 1999
Richard B. Cheney (8)	2001–2009	April 3, 2001

² Vote occurred at 2:00 a.m. on June 25, 1993.

Vice President	Years Served	Date Broke Tie
Richard B. Cheney (cont.)		April 5, 2001 May 21, 2002 April 11, 2003 May 15, 2003 May 23, 2003 December 21, 2005 March 13, 2008
Joseph Biden, Jr. (0)	2009–2017	_
Michael R. Pence (13)	2017–2021	February 7, 2017 ³ March 30, 2017 March 30, 2017 July 25, 2017 October 24, 2017 December 2, 2017 January 24, 2018 January 24, 2018 February 28, 2018 November 28, 2018 November 29, 2018 December 11, 2018 December 21, 2018
Kamala Harris (3)	2021-present	February 5, 2021 February 5, 2021 March 4, 2021

Total: 271

Sources: Compiled by the Senate Historical Office from a variety of sources, including: "Casting Votes of the Vice Presidents, 1789–1915," *American Historical Review* 20 (April 1915): 571–76; a printout of Senate votes decided by one vote or less, 1789–1983, prepared for Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress by the Inter–university Consortium for Political and Social Research, Ann Arbor, MI, in 1983; a list compiled by the Senate Library in 1979; and the Office of the Vice President. All votes listed here have been found and verified in either the *Senate Journal* or the *Senate Executive Journal*, or in the *Annals of Congress*, the *Congressional Globe*, or the *Congressional Record*.

Senate Historical Office March 19, 2021

³ First instance of a VP tie break vote on a Cabinet nomination.