United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
John J. Williams
William V. Roth
Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
Delaware Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Thomas F. Bayard, Sr., Willard Saulsbury, Jr.

Party Conference Secretaries: Willard Saulsbury, Jr.

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

District of Columbia: C. Douglass Buck

Finance: William V. Roth, Jr.

Foreign Relations: Joseph R. Biden, Jr.

Governmental Affairs: William V. Roth, Jr.

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Thomas Carper

Judiciary: Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
Delaware Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Caesar Rodney by Bryant Baker, located in the east front lobby; John Middleton Clayton by Bryant Baker, located in the Senate connecting corridor.

Paintings: Fort Delaware by Seth Eastman, located in the Center section, first floor, west corridor.

Portraits: Gunning Bedford, Jr. by Charles Willson Peale, located in the House wing, third floor, east corridor.

James Latimer by Clawson Shakespeare Hammitt, located in the Senate wing, third floor, south corridor.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.