United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Henrik Shipstead
Knute Nelson
Minnesota Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Hubert H. Humphrey; Walter Mondale

Party Whips: Hubert Humphrey

Party Senatorial Campaign Committee Chairman: Rudy Boschwitz

Minnesota Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Hubert H. Humphrey
Minnesota Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Maria L. Sanford by Evelyn Raymond, located in the Senate connecting corridor; Henry Mower Rice by Frederick E. Triebel, located in Statuary Hall.


Vice Presidents Collection: Hubert H. Humphrey by Walker Hancock (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor); Walter F. Mondale by Judson R. Nelson (Senate wing, second floor).

Paintings: Fort Snelling, Minnesota, by Seth Eastman, located in center section, first floor, west corridor.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.