United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
James E. Murray
Burton K. Wheeler
Mike Mansfield
Max Baucus
Montana Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Party Conference Chairmen (& Floor Leaders): Mike Mansfield

Majority Leaders: Mike Mansfield

Party Whips: Mike Mansfield

Party Policy Committee Chairman: Mike Mansfield

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Environment and Public Works: Max Baucus

Finance: Max S. Baucus

Interior and Insular Affairs: James E. Murray

Labor and Public Welfare: James E. Murray

Rules and Administration: Mike Mansfield
Montana Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Charles Marion Russell by John B. Weaver, located in Statuary Hall; Jeannette Rankin by Terry Minmaugh, located in the House connecting corridor, first floor.

Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.