United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Furnifold M. Simmons
Lee S. Overman
Jesse Helms
North Carolina Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Jesse Franklin, Nathaniel Macon, Willie P. Mangum, and Matt W. Ransom.

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chair: Elizabeth Dole

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry: Jesse Helms

Foreign Relations: Jesse Helms

Government Operations: Sam J. Ervin, Jr.

Rules and Administration: B. Everett Jordan
North Carolina Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Zebulon B. Vance by Gutzon Borglum (Statuary Hall) and Charles B. Aycock by Charles Keck (East central hall)

Paintings: Scene at the Signing of the Constitution of the United States by Howard C. Christy (House wing, east stairway). This painting contains portraits of North Carolina's delegates at the Constitutional Convention: Richard D. Spaight, William Blount, and Hugh Williamson.

Portraits: Nathaniel Macon by Robert D. Gauley after W.G. Randall (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor)


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.