United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Reed Smoot
Wallace F. Bennett
William H. King
Orrin G. Hatch
Utah Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: William H. King

Party Conference Secretaries: William H. King, Frank E. Moss, Wallace F. Bennett, E.J. "Jake" Garn

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Aeronautical and Space Sciences: Frank E. Moss

Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs: E.J. "Jake" Garn

Judiciary: Orrin G. Hatch

Labor and Human Resources: Orrin G. Hatch

Human Resources: Elbert D. Thomas

Utah Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Brigham Young by Mahonri Young in Statuary Hall; Philo T. Farnsworth by James R. Avati, in House connecting corridor, first floor.


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.