United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
State Information
Senate Leadership

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
George D. Aiken
George Edmunds
Patrick J. Leahy
Justin Morrill
Vermont Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Stephen R. Bradley, Solomon Foot, George F. Edmunds

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Agriculture and Forestry: George D. Aiken, Patrick J. Leahy

Expenditures in Executive Departments: George Aiken

Environment and Public Works: Robert T. Stafford; James Jeffords

Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions: James Jeffords

Judiciary: Patrick Leahy

Labor & Human Resources: James Jeffords

Veterans' Affairs: Bernard Sanders
Vermont Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Justin Morrill
Vermont Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Ethan Allen by Larkin G. Mead (Statuary Hall); Jacob Collamer by Preston Powers (Hall of Columns).

Paintings: The Electoral Commission of 1877 by Cornelia A. Fassett (Senate wing, third floor, east corridor). Contains likenesses of Vermont Senators Justin S. Morrill and George F. Edmunds.

Portraits: Justin Morrill by Eastman Johnson (Senate wing, second floor, main corridor).


Statuary Hall

The National Statuary Hall Collection in the U.S. Capitol has statues donated by individual states.  Learn more about your state's statues.

Architect's Statuary Hall Web page

Related Links

The Library of Congress maintains a State and Local Government Resource Page.

State election results must be certified by the State's Secretary.  The National Association of Secretaries of State maintains a list of their websites.