Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Martha McSally

Senator Martha McSally (R)
Hometown: Tucson
Web Form

Photo of Senator Kyrsten Sinema

Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D)
Hometown: Phoenix
Web Form


Arizona became the 48th state in the Union on February 14, 1912. The state’s first two senators, Henry Fountain Ashurst and Marcus A. Smith, took office on March 27, 1912. Arizona’s longest-serving senators include Carl Hayden (1927-1969), John McCain (1987-2018), and Barry Goldwater (1953-1965; 1969-1987). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Carl Hayden, who served as Senate president pro tempore; Ernest McFarland, who served as Democratic floor leader; and Jon Kyl, who served as Republican Party whip.

Additional State Information