Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Joni Ernst

Senator Joni Ernst (R)
Hometown: Red Oak
Web Form

Photo of Senator Chuck Grassley

Senator Chuck Grassley (R)
Hometown: New Hartford
Web Form


Iowa became the 29th state to join the Union on December 28, 1846. Iowa’s first two senators, Augustus Dodge and George Jones, took office on December 7, 1848. When Dodge took office, he joined his father, Henry Dodge, who represented Wisconsin in the Senate. They are the only father and son to serve simultaneously in the Senate. Iowa’s longest-serving senators include William Boyd Allison (1873-1908) and Charles Grassley (1981-present). Allison holds the record for longest-serving chairman of a standing committee, having chaired the Senate Appropriations Committee for nearly 25 years. Among those who rose to leadership positions is Albert B. Cummins, who served as the Senate’s president pro tempore.

Additional State Information