Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Joe Donnelly

Senator Joe Donnelly (D)
Hometown: Granger
Web Form

Photo of Senator Daniel Coats

Senator Daniel Coats (R)
Hometown: Indianapolis
Web Form


Indiana became the 19th state to join the Union on December 11, 1816. Indiana’s first two senators, James Noble and Waller Taylor, took office on that day. Indiana’s longest-serving senator is Richard Lugar, who served from 1977 to 2012. Among those who rose to leadership positions are Jesse Bright, who served as the Senate’s president pro tempore, and John Worth Kern and James E. Watson, who chaired their party conferences. Five Indianans—Schuyler Colfax, Charles Fairbanks, Thomas Hendricks, Thomas Marshall, and Dan Quayle—served as vice president and therefore as the Senate’s constitutional president or presiding officer.

Additional State Information