Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Steve Daines

Senator Steve Daines (R)
Hometown: Bozeman
Web Form

Photo of Senator Jon Tester

Senator Jon Tester (D)
Hometown: Big Sandy
Web Form


Montana became the 41st state in the Union on November 8, 1889. The state's first two senators, Wilbur Sanders and Thomas C. Power, were sworn into office on April 16, 1890, following a hotly contested election. Montana’s longest-serving senators include James E. Murray (1934-1961) and Max Baucus (1978-2014). Mike Mansfield served as Senate majority leader for 16 years, from 1961 to 1977, longer than any other majority leader to date.

Additional State Information