Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Mike Rounds

Senator Mike Rounds (R)
Hometown: Fort Pierre
Web Form

Photo of Senator John Thune

Senator John Thune (R)
Hometown: Sioux Falls
Web Form

South Dakota

South Dakota became the 40th state in the Union on November 2, 1889. The state’s first two senators, Richard F. Pettigrew and Gideon C. Moody, were sworn into office on December 2, 1889. South Dakota’s longest-serving senator is Karl Mundt, who served from 1948 to 1973. Among those who rose to leadership positions are Tom Daschle, who served as Democratic leader, and John Thune, who serves as Republican Conference chairman.

Additional State Information