Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Maria Cantwell

Senator Maria Cantwell (D)
Hometown: Edmonds
Web Form

Photo of Senator Patty Murray

Senator Patty Murray (D)
Hometown: Seattle
Web Form


Washington became the 42nd state in the Union on November 11, 1889. The state’s first two senators, John Allen and Watson Squire, took office on November 19, 1889. Washington’s longest-serving senators include Warren G. Magnuson (1944-1981) and Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson (1953-1983). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Wesley Jones, who served as Republican Party whip; Warren G. Magnuson, who served as Senate president pro tempore; and Patty Murray, who served as chair of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee, Democratic Conference secretary, and currently serves as assistant Democratic leader.

Additional State Information