Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator John Barrasso

Senator John Barrasso (R)
Hometown: Casper
Web Form

Photo of Senator Michael B. Enzi

Senator Michael B. Enzi (R)
Hometown: Gillette
Web Form


Wyoming became the 44th state in the Union on July 10, 1890. The state’s first two senators, Joseph M. Carey and Francis E. Warren, were sworn into office on December 1, 1890. Wyoming’s longest-serving senators include Francis Warren (1890-1893; 1895-1929) and Joseph O’Mahoney (1934-1953; 1954-1961). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Clifford P. Hansen, who served as Republican Conference secretary, and Alan K. Simpson, who served as Republican whip.

Additional State Information