Skip Content
U.S. Flag

States in the Senate | Connecticut

Photo of Senator Richard Blumenthal

Richard Blumenthal (D)
Hometown: Greenwich
Web Form

Photo of Senator Christopher Murphy

Christopher Murphy (D)
Hometown: Cheshire
Web Form

Connecticut became a state on January 9, 1788, the fifth state to join the Union. Connecticut's first two senators, Oliver Ellsworth and William Johnson, took office on March 4, 1789. Connecticut's longest-serving senators include Orville Platte (1879–1905) and Christopher Dodd (1981–2011). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Lafayette Foster and Frank Brandegee, both of whom served as the Senate's president pro tempore.

Return to map

State seal