Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Josh Hawley

Senator Josh Hawley (R)
Hometown: Columbia

Photo of Senator Roy Blunt

Senator Roy Blunt (R)
Hometown: Springfield
Web Form


Missouri became the 24th state to join the Union on August 10, 1821. Missouri’s first two senators, David Barton and Thomas Hart Benton, took office on that day. Missouri’s longest-serving senators include Benton (1821-1851), who was the first senator to reach 30 years of service, and Francis Cockrell (1875-1905). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Thomas Hennings, who served as Democratic Conference secretary, and Roy Blunt, who served as vice chair of the Republican Conference and chair of the Republican Policy Committee. As vice president of the United States, Harry S. Truman served as the Senate’s constitutional president or presiding officer.

Additional State Information