Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Martin Heinrich

Senator Martin Heinrich (D)
Hometown: Albuquerque
Web Form

Photo of Senator Tom Udall

Senator Tom Udall (D)
Hometown: Santa Fe
Web Form

New Mexico

New Mexico became the 47th state in the Union on January 6, 1912, 62 years after it became a territory. The state’s first two senators, Albert B. Fall and Thomas Catron, took office on March 27, 1912. New Mexico’s longest-serving senators include Dennis Chavez (1935-1962), Pete Domenici (1973-2009), and Jeff Bingaman (1983-2013). Octaviano Larrazolo became the first Hispanic-American senator in 1929, and Dennis Chavez became the first American-born Hispanic senator in 1935.

Additional State Information