Skip to main content
State sealflag
Photo of Senator Mike Lee

Senator Mike Lee (R)
Hometown: Alpine
Web Form

Photo of Senator Orrin G. Hatch

Senator Orrin G. Hatch (R)
Hometown: Salt Lake City
Web Form


Utah became the 45th state in the Union on January 4, 1896. The state’s first two senators, Frank Cannon and Arthur Brown, took office on January 22, 1896. Utah’s longest-serving senators include Reed Smoot (1903-1933) and Orrin Hatch (1977-present). Among those who rose to leadership positions are William H. King, who served as Senate president pro tempore, and Frank E. Moss, Wallace F. Bennett, and Jake Garn, all of whom served as their party’s conference secretary. Hatch currently serves as the Senate's president pro tempore.

Additional State Information