Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Policy Committee Chairpersons

Senators Robert Taft and Alben Barkley
Chapter 1: Policy Committee Chair
Chapter 2: Republican Policy Committee Chairpersons
Chapter 3: Democratic Policy Committee Chairpersons

Policy Committee Chair 

The Senate created Democratic and Republican Policy Committees in 1947. Until 2000, the Democratic Policy Committee was chaired by the party floor leader, who also served as chair of the Democratic Conference. A co-chair position was added in 1989. In the 106th Congress, the majority leader dropped his co-chair status and the chair of the policy committee is now an elected post. The Republican Policy Committee elects its chairperson separate from the party floor leader.


Republican Policy Committee Chairpersons 
  Senator Term
Taft, Robert A. (OH) 1947-1952
Knowland, William F. (CA) 1953
Ferguson, Homer (MI) 1954
Bridges, Styles (NH) 1955-1961
Hickenlooper, Bourke B. (IA) 1962-1968
Allott, Gordon (CO) 1969-1972
Tower, John (TX) 1973-1985
Armstrong, William (CO) 1985-1990
Nickles, Donald Lee (OK) 1991-1996
Craig, Larry (ID) 1996-2003
Kyl, Jon (AZ) 2003-2007
Hutchison, Kay Bailey (TX) 2007-2009
Ensign, John (NV) 2009-June 2009
Thune, John (SD) 2009-2012
Barrasso, John (WY) 2012-2019
Blunt, Roy (MO) 2019-


Democratic Policy Committee Chairpersons 
  Senator Term
Barkley, Alben W. (KY) 1947-1949
Lucas, Scott W. (IL) 1949-1951
McFarland, Ernest W. (AZ) 1951-1953
Johnson, Lyndon B. (TX) 1953-1961
Mansfield, Michael J. (MT) 1961-1977
Byrd, Robert C. (WV) 1977-1989
Mitchell, George J. (ME) 1989-1995
  Daschle, Thomas (Co-Chair) (SD) 1989-1995
Daschle, Thomas (SD) 1995-1999
  Reid, Harry (Co-Chair) (NV) 1995-1999
Dorgan, Byron (ND) 1999-2011
Schumer, Charles (NY) 2011-2017
Stabenow, Deborah (MI) 2017-
[an error occurred while processing this directive]