Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Landmark Legislation

Between 1861 and 1865 Congress passed landmark legislation to raise and fund military forces, settle western lands, expand the railroads, establish land-grant colleges, and abolish slavery. Learn about landmark Civil War legislation by following the links below.

The Revenue Act of 1861

The Pacific Railway Act of 1862

The Homestead Act of 1862

Morrill Land Grant College Act

The District of Columbia Compensated Emancipation Act

The Thirteenth Amendment

The Fourteenth Amendment

The Fifteenth Amendment