Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Women Senators, 1993

Women Senators, 1993
Known as the Year of the Woman, 1993 saw the number of women serving simultaneously in the U.S. Senate grow to seven.
Standing, left to right: Patty Murray (D-WA), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Seated, left to right: Carol Moseley Braun (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA); not pictured: Kay Bailey Hutchison (D-TX), Nancy Landon Kassebaum (R-KS)
credit: United States Senate Historical Office