U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Christopher J. Dodd
Joseph R. Hawley
Joseph Lieberman
Orville H. Platt
Connecticut Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Lafayette S. Foster, Frank B. Brandegee

Democratic Conference Secretaries: Francis T. Maloney, Brien McMahon

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs: Christopher Dodd

Judiciary: Frank B. Brandegee

Governmental Affairs: Abraham A. Ribicoff; Joseph Lieberman

Government Operations: Abraham A. Ribicoff

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Joseph Lieberman

Rules & Administration: Christopher Dodd

Small Business: Lowell P. Weicker, Jr.
Connecticut Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps
Brien McMahon
Connecticut Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Jonathan Trumbull by Chauncey B. Ives (House connecting corridor); Roger Sherman by Chauncey B. Ives (Statuary Hall).


Senators Collection: Lafayette S. Foster by Charles Calverly (vice president's formal office).

Chief Justices Collection: Oliver Ellsworth by Hezekiah Augur (old Supreme Court chamber).

Paintings: Declaration of Independence in Congress at the Independence Hall, Philadelphia, July 4th, 1776 by John Trumbull. The scene includes Connecticut's three delegates signing the Declaration (Rotunda).

General George Washington Resigning His Commission to Congress As Commander in Chief of the Army at Annapolis, Maryland, by John Trumbull (Rotunda).

Surrender of General Burgoyne at Saratoga, by John Trumbull (Rotunda).

Surrender of Lord Cornwallis at Yorktown, Virginia, by John Trumbull (Rotunda).

Fort Trumbull, Connecticut, by Seth Eastman (center section, first floor, west corridor).

Jonathan Trumbull portrait by Harry I. Thompson (Speakers' Lobby, House wing, 2nd floor).

The Connecticut Compromise, featuring Roger Sherman and Oliver Ellsworth, by Bradley Stevens (Senate Reception Room)

Unusual Facts
Roger Sherman, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, served simultaneously as mayor of New Haven and as one of Connecticut's U.S. senators.

Roger S. Baldwin, Roger Sherman's grandson, helped to organize the Republican party in the mid-nineteenth century, after the demise of the Whig party. When Baldwin remained loyal to his Republican party policies during his reelection campaign, his refusal to conform to the predominantly Whig general assembly's wishes cost him his Senate seat.