U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Eugene Hale
William P. Frye
Frederick Hale
Hannibal Hamlin
Margaret Chase Smith
Maine Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Hannibal Hamlin

President Pro Tempore: William P. Frye

Party Conference Chair: Wallace H. White, Jr., George J. Mitchell.

Majority Leader: George J. Mitchell, Wallace H. White, Jr.

Minority Leader: Wallace H. White, Jr.

Republican Conference Secretaries: Frederick Hale, Wallace H. White, Jr.

Democratic Policy Committee Chair: George J. Mitchell

Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee Chair: George J. Mitchell

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Budget: Edmund S. Muskie

Governmental Affairs: Susan Collins

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Susan Collins

Interstate and Foreign Commerce: Wallace H. White, Jr.

Small Business and Entrepreneurship: Olympia J. Snowe
Maine Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps
Margaret Chase Smith, 2007
Maine Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Hannibal Hamlin by Charles E. Tefft (Statuary Hall); William King by Franklin Simmons (House connecting corridor).


Vice President's Collection: Hannibal Hamlin by Franklin Simmons (Senate chamber gallery).

Paintings: Fort Knox, Maine by Seth Eastman (Central section, first floor, west corridor); Fort Scamel and Fort Gorges, Maine by Seth Eastman (Central section, first floor, west corridor).


Thomas B. Reed by John S. Sargent, James G. Blaine by Freeman Thorp (both in Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor).

Margaret Chase Smith, by Ronald Frontin (Senate wing, third floor).

George J. Mitchell, by Alan Magee (Senate Lobby).
Unusual Facts
Margaret Chase Smith was the first woman to serve in both houses of Congress. She also served longer in the Senate (twenty-four years) than any other woman.