U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Carl Levin
Michigan Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Gerald R. Ford

President Pro Tempore: Lewis Cass, Charles E. Stuart, Thomas W. Ferry, Arthur H. Vandenberg

Republican Conference Chairman: Arthur H. Vandenberg

Republican Policy Committee Chairman: Homer Ferguson

Democratic Policy and Communications Committee Chairwoman: Debbie Stabenow

Democratic Conference Secretary: Debbie Stabenow

Party Whips: Robert P. Griffin

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry: Debbie Stabenow

Armed Services: Carl Levin

Foreign Relations: Arthur H. Vandenberg

Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs: Donald W. Riegle, Jr.

Public Works: Patrick McNamara
Michigan Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Lewis Cass by Daniel C. French (Statuary Hall); Gerald R. Ford, Jr., by J. Brett Grill (Rotunda)


Vice Presidents Collection: Gerald R. Ford by Walker Hancock (Second floor, east corridor, Senate wing).

Paintings: Fort Mackinac, Michigan by Seth Eastman (Center section, first floor, west corridor).

Architecturally Significant Buildings, Construction Materials, Furniture and Objects: Philip A. Hart Senate Office Building--the most recent and only Senate office building designed in a modern style without any classical ornament. 1951--New seats and stools for Senate galleries, American Seating Company, Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Plaque: Arthur H. Vandenberg (S-138).