U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
John C. Stennis
James O. Eastland
Thad Cochran
Mississippi Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: George Poindexter, Pat Harrison, James Eastland, John C. Stennis

Majority Leader: Trent Lott

Minority Leader: Trent Lott

Democratic Caucus Chairman: Hernando D. Money

Republican Conference Chairman: Thad Cochran

Party Whips: Trent Lott

Republican Conference Secretary: Thad Cochran, Trent Lott

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Appropriations: John C. Stennis, Thad Cochran

Armed Services: John C. Stennis

Judiciary: James O. Eastland

Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry: Thad Cochran

Rules and Administration: Trent Lott
Mississippi Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: Jefferson Davis by Augustus Lukeman (Statuary Hall); James Z. George by Augustus Lukeman (Hall of Columns).

Frescos: Columbia Welcoming the South Back into the Union, Secession and Products of the North and South, both by Constantino Brumidi (Office of the Vice President).


Discovery of the Mississippi by De Soto by William H. Powell (Rotunda).

Blanche Kelso Bruce, by Simmie Lee Knox (Senate Wing).