U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Jacob K. Javits
Daniel Patrick Moynihan
New York Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Aaron Burr; George Clinton; Daniel Tompkins; Martin Van Buren; Millard Fillmore; William Wheeler; Chester A. Arthur; Levi Morton; Theodore Roosevelt; James Sherman; Nelson A. Rockefeller

President pro tempore: John Laurance

Republican Conference Secretary: James W. Wadsworth, Jr.

Party Whips: James W. Wadsworth, Jr.

Democratic Conference Vice Chair: Charles Schumer

Democratic Policy Committee Chair: Charles Schumer

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chair: Alfonse D'Amato

Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee Chair: Charles Schumer

Democratic Steering and Outreach Committee Chair: Hillary Rodham Clinton

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs: Alfonse D'Amato

Environment & Public Works: Daniel Patrick Moynihan

Finance: Daniel Patrick Moynihan

Foreign Relations: Jacob Javits (served one day)

Rules and Administration: Charles Schumer
New York Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
John Foster Dulles
Robert F. Kennedy
William H. Seward (6 issues)
New York Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: George Clinton by Henry K. Brown (small House rotunda); Robert R. Livingston by Erastus D. Palmer (East central hall); Alexander Hamilton by Horatio Stone (Rotunda)


Vice President's Collection: Chester A. Arthur by Augustus Saint-Gaudens, Aaron Burr by Jacques Jouvenal, George Clinton by Vittorio A. Ciani, Millard Fillmore by Robert Cushing, Daniel D. Tompkins by Charles H. Niehaus, Martin Van Buren by Ulric S.J. Dunbar, William Wheeler by Edward C. Potter (all in Senate chamber gallery); Levi P. Morton by F. Edwin Elwell, Theodore Roosevelt by James Earle Fraser, James S. Sherman by Bessie P. Vonnoh, and Nelson A. Rockefeller by John Calabro (all in Senate wing, second floor corridors near Senate chamber).

Chief Justices Collection: John Jay by John Frazee (S-141, old Supreme Court chamber).

Frescos: Storming of Stony Point by Constantino Brumidi (S-128)

Paintings: Battle of Lake Erie by William H. Powell (Senate wing, east staircase); Discovery of the Hudson River by Albert Bierstadt (Members' private stairway, east corridor); Fort Lafayette, New York by Seth Eastman (Center section, first floor, west corridor); Fort Tompkins and Fort Wadsworth, New York by Seth Eastman (Center section, first floor, west corridor); Fort West Point, New York by Seth Eastman (Center section, first floor, west corridor); Niagara Falls in Winter by Regis Gignoux (Senate wing, third floor, south corridor); Surrender of General Burgoyne at Saratoga, New York by John Trumbull (Rotunda).

Portraits: Alexander Hamilton by Constantino Brumidi (S-216); John W. Taylor by Caroline L.O. Ransom (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor); Theodore M. Pomeroy by George L. Clough (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor).

Medallions: By Constantino Brumidi: John Jay (Senate wing, first floor, west corridor); Robert R. Livingston (2 works--Senate wing, first floor, west corridor and main corridor)

Building Materials, Furniture and Objects: Cast Iron for Capitol Dome--Janes, Fowler & Kirtland.