U.S. Flag

North Dakota
Longest Serving Senators (24 years or more):
Milton R. Young
Quentin Burdick
Kent Conrad
Porter J. McComber
North Dakota Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
President Pro Tempore: Milton R. Young

Party Conference Secretary: Milton R. Young

Democratic Policy Committee Co-Chairman: Byron Dorgan

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Budget: Kent Conrad

Environment and Public Works: Quentin N. Burdick

Indian Affairs: Byron Dorgan, John Hoeven

Judiciary: William Langer

Post Office & Civil Service: William Langer

North Dakota Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: John Burke by Avard Fairbanks, located in Statuary Hall.
Sakakawea by Leonard Crunell, Emancipation Hall.