U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Karl E. Mundt
South Dakota Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Party Conference Secretary: J. Chandler Gurney

Party Conference Chairmen: Thomas A. Daschle, John Thune

Party Policy Committee Chairmen: Thomas A. Daschle (co-chair), John Thune

Minority Leader: Thomas A. Daschle

Majority Leader: Thomas A. Daschle

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Banking: Tim Johnson

Armed Services: J. Chandler Gurney

Commerce, Science and Transportation: Larry L. Pressler; John Thune

District of Columbia: Francis H. Case
South Dakota Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: William Henry Harrison Beadle by H. Daniel Webster (Statuary Hall); Joseph Ward by Bruno Beghé (Hall of Columns).

Unusual Facts
Senator Richard Pettigrew of Sioux Falls walked out of the Republican National Convention at St. Louis in 1896 when the convention refused to accept a free coinage of silver position in the party's platform. (In 1917, former Senator Pettigrew was indicted for sedition during the first World War, but the indictment was later dismissed.) In 1972 the Senate Republican Conference stripped Senator Karl E. Mundt of his three committee assignments. Mundt, who had not appeared in the Senate since suffering a stroke in late 1969, had been ranking minority member of the Government Relations Committee and second ranking member on both the Appropriations and Foreign Relations Committees. Among the forty-five Senate Republicans, Mundt ranked third. His poor health prevented him from seeking a fifth term in the Senate.