U.S. Flag

Senate Service
Longest Service (24 years or more):
Kenneth D. McKellar
Tennessee Senators Who Served in Leadership Positions
Senate President (U.S. Vice President): Andrew Johnson, Albert A. Gore, Jr.

President Pro Tempore: Joseph Anderson, Hugh L. White, Isham G. Harris, Kenneth D. McKellar.

Minority and Majority Leaders: Howard H. Baker, Jr., William Frist

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chair: William Frist

Standing Committee Chairs Since 1947:

Appropriations: Kenneth D. McKellar

Budget: James R. Sasser

Foreign Relations: Bob Corker

Governmental Affairs: Fred Thompson

Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions: Alexander Lamar
Tennessee Senators Depicted on U.S. Postage Stamps:
Andrew Jackson, Andrew Johnson.
Tennessee Citizens Honored in the Capitol's Art Collection
Statuary: John Sevier by Belle Kinney Scholz and Leopold F. Sholz (Statuary Hall); Andrew Jackson by Belle Kinney and L.F. Sholz (Rotunda).


Vice Presidents Collection: Andrew Johnson by William C. McCauslen (Senate chamber gallery).

Cordell Hull by George Conlon (Brumidi Corridor).

Portraits: Andrew Jackson attributed to Thomas Scully (S-210); John Bell by Willie B. Newman (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor); James K. Polk by Rebecca Polk (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor); Joseph W. Byrns by Ella S. Hergesheimer (Speaker's Lobby, House wing, second floor). The Republican leader's office, S-230, is named for Howard H. Baker, Jr.; his portrait (on loan) by Herbert E. Abrams hangs in the conference room of the office.

Building materials, furniture, and objects: Tennessee marble: 1) Tennessee variegated marble (Tennessee Pink) from Knox County (Grand staircase trim on the House and Senate sides). 2) Endsley Robilee Tavernelle Marble from Blount County (floors, Main Hall, Senate and House Dining Rooms). 3) Imperial Black from Knoxville (floors, borders of House and Senate Dining Rooms).

Unusual Facts
It has been rare in this century for practicing physicians to serve in the Senate. Tennessee's Bill Frist--a practicing cardiologist--is the first since 1938. President Andrew Johnson, who was impeached by the House of Representatives and subsequently acquitted in trial by the Senate, is the only president to have later returned to serve in the Senate.