United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitor Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Virtual Reference Desk
Statistics & Lists
How to...
Is it true that . . .
Senate Organization
Constitution of the United States



The president submits a budget to Congress for the federal government every fiscal year (October 1 through September 30). Congress must then pass appropriations bills to provide money to carry out government programs for that year. Appropriations bills are usually divided up by type of program and agency into thirteen separate bills: Agriculture, Commerce/Justice/State, Defense, District of Columbia, Energy and Water, Foreign Operations, Interior, Labor/Health and Human Services/Education, Legislative Branch, Military Construction, Transportation, Treasury/Postal Service, and Veterans' Affairs/Housing and Urban Development.

The Congressional Appropriations Process: An Introduction (pdf) (CRS)

Appropriations Committee


Appropriations and other useful information is available on the Appropriations Bills page

Related Items

Interested in related materials? Take a look at this Virtual Reference Desk subject for more information.