Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Executive Branch

The executive branch is headed by the president and consists of various entities and organizations that are administrative, regulatory, or policy-implementing in nature. Most prominent among these are fourteen departments, whose heads comprise the cabinet. In addition, there are a number of agencies, plus separate smaller boards, committees, commissions, and offices created by law or presidential directive.

The Executive Branch & the Senate
Search Senate Executive Communications (
Executive Calendars  current (PDF) | Archive

Visit these Virtual Reference Desk subjects to find out more about the executive branch.
President of the Senate/ Vice President of the United States