Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Republican Party Whips

Filter by:
WadsworthJames W. Wadsworth, Jr. (R-NY) 1915_11915
CurtisCharles Curtis (R-KS) 1915-1924
JonesWesley L. Jones (R-WA) 1924-1929
FessSimeon D. Fess (R-OH) 1929-1933
HébertFelix Hébert (R-RI) 1933-19351
WherryKenneth S. Wherry (R-NE) 1944-1949
SaltonstallLeverett Saltonstall (R-MA) 1949-1957
DirksenEverett M. Dirksen (R-IL) 1957-1959
KuchelThomas H. Kuchel (R-CA) 1959-1969
ScottHugh D. Scott, Jr. (R-PA) 1969
GriffinRobert P. Griffin (R-MI) 1969-1977
StevensTed Stevens (R-AK) 1977-1985
SimpsonAlan K. Simpson (R-WY) 1985-1995
LottTrent Lott (R-MS) 1995-1996
NicklesDonald L. Nickles (R-OK) 1996-2003
McConnellMitch McConnell (R-KY) 2003-2007
LottTrent Lott (R-MS) 2007
KylJon L. Kyl (R-AZ) 2008-2013
CornynJohn Cornyn (R-TX) 2013-2019
ThuneJohn Thune (R-SD) 2019-present

*Advanced to Republican party floor leader.

1 No Republican whips were appointed from 1935 to 1944 since only 17 Republicans were in the Senate following the landslide election of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1936. Accordingly, the minutes of the Republican Conference for the period state: "On motion of Senator Hastings, duly seconded and carried, it was agreed that no Assistant Leader or Whip be elected but that the chairman be authorized to appoint Senators from time to time to assist him in taking charge of the interests of the minority." A note attached to the conference minutes added: "The chairman of the conference, Senator McNary, apparently appointed Senator Austin of Vermont as assistant leader in 1943 and 1944, until the conference adopted Rules of Organization."