Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Abbreviations for Senate Office Buildings

The Senate uses five primary buildings as work locations on Capitol Hill. Listed below are the abbreviations for each of the buildings.

AbbreviationOffice Building
SCapitol (Senate side)
SR or RSoBRussell Senate Office Building
SR-CRussell Senate Office Building, Courtyard
SD or DSoBDirksen Senate Office Building
SD-GDirksen Senate Office Building-Ground Level*
SD-BDirksen Senate Office Building-Basement Level*
SH or HSoBHart Senate Office Building
SVCCapitol Visitor Center (Senate side)

*This abbreviation is also used for the Hart (SH-G, SH-B) and Russell (SR-G, SR-B) buildings.

Additional Resources from the U.S. Capitol Visitor Center:
Map of Capitol Hill
Capitol Visitor Center